Malaysia’s youngest Datuk, Chief Minister, Member of Parliament, Deputy Chief Minister, Vice-Chancellor etc

UPDATE 22 March 2013

Youngest Inspector General of Police (IGP): Tun Hanif Omar, who became Malaysia’s fourth IGP in 1974 aged 35, and held the post for 20 years, another record.

UPDATE 16 March 2013

Youngest Tun:
- Tun Datu Mustapha Datu Harun (born 31st July 1918) became Sabah’s first governor (Yang di-Pertua Negeri) in 1963 at the age of 45. He was conferred the Grand Commander of the Order of the Defender of the Realm (S.M.N.) (Seri Maharaja Mangku Negara) award on 26th November 1964. He was 46 years old.
- Tun Daim Zainuddin, at 53 in 1991: the youngest ever non-Governor Tun?

UPDATE 6 April 2011

- Larry Sng, 22 in 2001 in Pelagus, Sarawak.
- Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, 22 in 1969 in Bukit Nanas, Selangor [subject to confirmation]


Any mistakes pls inform. Thanks.

Member of Parliament:
- Najib Tun Razak, 22 in 1976.
- In Sabah, the late (Datuk?) Affendi Stephens was 23 when he became MP of Marudu in 1982. The late Datuk Peter Mojuntin became MP of Penampang at age 24 in 1963.

Chief Minister/ Menteri Besar: Najib Tun Razak was 29 when he was appointed MB of Pahang in 1982. In contrast, Dato’ Seri Dr. Mohamad Khir Bin Toyo was 35 when apppointed Selangor MB in 2000.

Deputy Chief Minister / Deputy Menteri Besar: Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin was 32 when appointed Deputy CM I of Penang in 2008.

UMNO Supreme Council: Najib Tun Razak, 28 in 1981.

UMNO Vice President: Najib Tun Razak, 40 in 1993.

Deputy Federal Minister: Najib Tun Razak was 25 when he was appointed Deputy Minister of Energy, Telecommunications and Post in 1978.

Cabinet Federal Minister: Najib Tun Razak was 32 when he was appointed Culture, Youth and Sports Minister in 1986.

Enough of politicians.

Self-made millionaire: youngest ever is apparently Mahadi Badrul Zaman, who by the age of 23 in 2006 had been earning 6-figure (in RM) monthly via selling unit trusts.

King: Almarhum Tuanku Sayyid Putra was 41 when he became the 3rd Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) on 21st September 1960. In contrast, Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, the current King was 44 when his term started on 13th December 2006.

Queen: Yang Amat Mulia Permaisuri Siti Aishah Abdul Rahman was 29 when she became Raja Permaisuri Agong (Queen) of Malaysia in 1999.

Vice Chancellor a Malaysian public university: Prof Datuk Dr Zaini Ujang, 43, appointed Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) VC on 1st October 2008 for a 3-year term, is the youngest person ever appointed to head a Malaysian public university.

Datukship: The world’s top squash player, Nicol David, 24 was awarded a Datukship by the state government of Penang on 12th July 2008. The late Affendi Stephens got his Datukship at 24(?). In contrast, the world’s top badminton player Lee Chong Wei was 25 when he was awarded a Datukship by the state government of Penang on 30th August 2008. Vinod Sekhar reportedly got his Datukship at 26. Songbird Siti Nurhaliza got her Datukship from the Sultan of Pahang on 24th October 2006 when she was 27.

3 thoughts on “Malaysia’s youngest Datuk, Chief Minister, Member of Parliament, Deputy Chief Minister, Vice-Chancellor etc

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>