Chronicles @ bengodomon.com |
  • Home
  • About
  • Contact
  • Links
  • Site Policies
  • Users online
  •  




    Hoax alert: Free PDA + GSM Palm

    June 29th, 2007

    I received the following email about 2 weeks back:

    From: “Irene Julia” <irene.julia@gmail.com>
    To: [deleted]

    Sent: Wednesday, June 13, 2007 1:54 AM
    Subject: Fwd: Free PDA+GSM Palm

    Dear Friends,

    Here is to announce that our company Palm, Inc., headquarter is located in Sunnyvale, California US opens our marketing office in Kuala Lumpur for Asia region. We are promoting our product and for the detail you can visit: 

    http://www.palm.com/id/products/smartphones/

    For first launching of our product in Malaysia, we will give away for free the new product of PDA+GSM Palm Type Treo 650 and Treo 680 and Treo 750.

    By giving the product of PDA+GSM , we will get valuable feed back from the customers and get the mouth to mouth advertising.

    You only have to forward to 15 people. After 2 weeks you will receive a PDA+GSM Palm Type Treo 650. If you forward to 25 people, you will receive a PDA+GSM Handspring Type Treo 680. And if you forward to 40 people you will get a PDA+GSM Palm Type Treo 750.

    The only thing to remember is to send cc (copy) to:

    louise.jasmine@gmail.com

    Only by sending email to this address, we know you have forwarded this massage to your friends.

    Good Luck!!

    Louise Jasmine

    Executive Promotion

    Kuala Lumpur Office

    Palm, Inc.

    Email:

    Private : louise.jasmine@gmail.com
    Business: louise.jasmine@palm.com

    After explaining to the sender that it’s most likely a hoax, I keep getting the same email back from different persons.

    Even though I can’t find references to it the usual way, it still sounds suspicious for the following reasons:

    • why she used a free email account to send this instead of palm.com corporate email?
    • why is the email sent by a Ms Irene Julia, while it was signed by a Ms Louise Jasmine?
    • why she linked to Palm’s Indonesian website instead of Palm’s Malaysian website?
    • neither Palm US, nor Palm Indonesia, nor Palm Malaysia website mentioned any such promotion/marketing campaign.
    • spelling and grammatical errors

    I contacted Palm Corp US, Hong Kong and Singapore to confirm whether this is an authentic offer via their listed email address a few weeks ago, unfortunately I haven’t received any reply yet. Email addresses for Palm Malaysia & Indonesia are not listed.

    Popularity: 1% [?]

    • Digg
    • del.icio.us
    • StumbleUpon
    • Technorati
    Did you enjoy this post? Please Subscribe via RSS or email.

    Related posts

  • ipodsweepstakes.com gives away an ipod a day
  • Ferrari-sponsored car in Penampang
  • gofreesms.com : Send free SMS to almost any place on earth
  • For Catholics only: what’s the deal with Pope Pius Bread / Our Lady’s Bread / The Cake of our Lady the Virgin Mary?
  • First influenza A(H1N1) alert in Sabah, 13th May 2009
  • RSS feed | Trackback URI

    3 Comments »

    Note: if your comment does not appear immediately - it is being held in moderation. I will make it visible as soon as possible. Thanks for your comment!

    Comment by papajoneh Subscribed to comments via email
    2007-06-29 21:24:29

    definitely a hoax. interesting that the Louise using irene’s email. LOL.

     
    Comment by swordie
    2007-06-30 10:01:32

    dude… today, on this date… the models are one year plus old… what launching? ‘Back launching’ izzit?

    Comment by bengodomon
    2007-07-01 04:13:06

    Haha, i didnt even realise that – good point!

     
     
    Name (required)
    E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
    URI

    Subscribe to comments via email
    Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
    You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

    Subscribe without commenting